The New Lottie Top!

Cover of my Issue…and look who’s on the cover?!

I love granny squares. Strike that, reverse it. It seems that granny squares love me! In my designs they constantly appear without so much as a ‘Howdy do!’, whatever that means. 

The truth of the matter is that I abhor the look of the traditional granny square. It has been done before…a lot. It’s time to move on. The stitch however is perfect for summer. Think about it. A granny square is essentially a lace square. The stitch leaves these wonderful large eyelets that work great with summer. That is how the Lottie Top was born!

I love T-sweaters. They are worked in two simple pieces and require just a small amount of seaming…sizing is a breeze because, well, you just add more stitches and rows to the torso to size up and decrease them to size down. Lottie is perfect for beginners. You simply need to know a few stitches (UK stitch is in the parenthesis), SC (dc), Sl st (Sl st), DC (Tr), Ch (ch), and that is it! If you can chain, single crochet, double crochet, and work a slip stitch (and even the most novice crocheter can) than you can stitch Lottie right up! :-)

For all of you wondering: Lottie Top is only available in the September Issue of Inside Crochet! Order a copy here! The tactile magazine will be available for purchase here at your local Bookstore or Joann’s in the states in about a month or two so keep your eyes open! :-) If you want it ahead of time why not try a digital subscription here? 

Lottie Top

Lottie Top
(C) Britt Spring

The top is constructed from the bottom up in two pieces! Yes…just a front and back. The dolman sleeves are perfect for a nice roomy fit. I really love the styling Inside Crochet went with. I mean how cute is that outfit? And simple! I would also love to see it over a bathing suit for a day at the beach!

I wanted the top, obviously perfect for late summer, to work with a lot of different yarns. I decided to go with a DK weight cotton, Sublime Egyptian Cotton DK! Sublime Egyptian Cotton Dk has a beautiful sheen and comes in a great vintage palette. The colors I chose were #321, #323, #331, and #327. All of these colors can be picked up from my friends over at Webs for just $7.95 a ball or from your Local Yarn Shop!

Lottie Top

Lottie Top
(C) Britt Spring

I hope you love this top. Designing crochet is always such a joy and whenever I design for my dear friends (and I really do mean that!) over at Inside Crochet, it is as if two creative worlds collide. I am never disappointed in the mag itself, the designers inside, and the photography (btw they own these photos!)! Oh…and wait until you see what I have cooked up for this F/W with Inside Crochet. It is going to knock your socks right off!

With Love,

Rohn

Leave a Reply

